Press Release



For Immediate Release

2018 ACCJ Person of the Year Award presented to Ambassador Kenichiro Sasae & Nobuko Sasae for their promotion of the U.S.-Japan partnership

April 17, 2019 – The American Chamber of Commerce in Japan (ACCJ) announced today that it has named Ambassador Kenichiro Sasae and Nobuko Sasae as the double recipients of its 2018 Person of the Year award for their continuous commitment to the strength of the U.S.-Japan bilateral partnership.

ACCJ President, Peter M. Jennings, congratulated the honorees, saying, "Nobuko Sasae, your leadership and vision to promote women's empowerment matches closely with the ACCJ's values and priorities. Ambassador Sasae, your significant contributions have been pivotal in helping bring the U.S. and Japanese business communities closer together."

During his two-term residence over almost six years as Japanese Ambassador to the United States of America, Ambassador Sasae brought together the U.S. and Japanese business through dialogue. He was a frequent speaker to the U.S. business community, a role that also included engagement with the ACCJ's Washington, D.C. Doorknock initiative to ensure the voice of private enterprise is represented in the bilateral partnership.

Nobuko Sasae champions the empowerment of women professionals from both the United States and Japan through her signature initiative, the Nobuko Forum, engaging professionals and business leaders through highlighting the experiences and insights of women leaders. Since returning to her home country, Nobuko Sasae continues to advance debate around critical issues facing business in Japan, including workplace diversity, entrepreneurship, work-life balance and career-building.

ACCJ's decision to honor Ambassador and Nobuko Sasae is the only doubleaward presented since Ambassador John Roos and Susan Roos were honored in 2012.

About the ACCJ Person of the Year Award

The ACCJ's Person of the Year award was established in 1996 to enable the Chamber to recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to business and commerce between Japan and the United States of America. Past recipients have been some of the greatest contributors to furthering U.S.-Japan relations.

For a full list of past recipients of the ACCJ's Person of the Year award, please see the Appendix below.

###

1904 E

About ACCJ

The American Chamber of Commerce in Japan (ACCJ) was established in 1948 by representatives of 40 American companies and has grown into one of the most influential business organizations in Japan. Consisting mainly of executives from American companies, currently the ACCJ has members representing over 1,000 companies with offices in Tokyo, Nagoya, and Osaka. Working closely with the governments of the United States and Japan, business organizations, and others, the ACCJ promotes activities that help achieve its mission of further developing commerce between the United States and Japan, promoting the interests of U.S. companies and members, and improving the international business environment in Japan. The ACCJ's more than 60 committees represent a variety of industries and make policy recommendations through advocacy tools such as viewpoints, public comments and white papers. The ACCJ holds approximately 500 events and seminars a year, many of which focus on government policy and economic trends. The ACCJ is also committed to its responsibilities in the community, promoting charitable events and CSR activities.

PRESS CONTACT: ACCJ Communications (phone: 080 4124 7460; email: comms@accj.or.jp).

1996	Hon. Walter Mondale, 24th U.S. Ambassador to Japan
1997	Mr. Yotaro Kobayashi, Chairman and CEO, Fuji Xerox Company, Ltd.
1998	Mr. Hideo Ishihara, Chairman, Goldman Sachs Japan
1999	Dr. Kazuo Inamori, the Founder and Chairman emeritus of DDI Corporation and Kyocera Corporation
2000	Hon. Thomas S. Foley, 25th U.S. Ambassador to Japan
2001	Mr. Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Chairman, Orix Corporation; Vice Chairman, Keizai Doyukai; Chair, Council for Regulatory Reform
2002	Mr. Masamoto Yashiro, Chairman & CEO, Shinsei Bank Ltd.
2003	Mr. Yuzaburo Mogi, President & Chairman, Kikkoman
2004	Hon. Howard H. Baker Jr., 26th U.S. Ambassador to Japan
2005	Mr. Taizo Nishimuro, Chairman & CEO, Tokyo Stock Exchange; Advisor to the Board, Toshiba Corporation
2006	Mr. Hiroshi Okuda, Senior Advisor and Member of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation
2007	Professor Heizo Takenaka, Director of Keio University's Global Security Research Institute
2008	Hon. Thomas Schieffer, 27th U.S. Ambassador to Japan
2009	Mr. Tadashi Yamamoto, President, Japan Center for International Exchange
2010	Dr. Kiyoshi Kurokawa, Chairman, Health Policy Institute, Japan; Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
2011	Mr. Hiroshi Mikitani, Chairman and CEO of Rakuten, Inc.
2012	Ambassador John Roos and Susan Roos
2013	Mr. Fujio Cho, Honorary Chairman, Toyota Motor Corporation
2014	Ms. Fumiko Hayashi, Mayor, City of Yokohama
2015	Ms. Wendy Cutler, Vice President and Managing Director Asia Society Policy Institute
2016	Ms. Caroline Kennedy, United States Ambassador to Japan
2017	Mr. Atsushi "Andy" Saito, Commissioner of Nippon Professional Baseball Organization; Senior Fellow to KKR Global Institute, KKR Japan

[APPENDIX] Past recipients of the ACCJ Person of the Year award